Posted on

Within the tech world, especially in the realm of SharePoint, migration holds a significantly different meaning rather than individuals outdoors from the IT bubble who probably affiliate the word with wild birds flying south for that winter or individuals lucky retirees who take pleasure in the nice and cozy weather of southern states during cooler several weeks. For all of us tech types, migration means a significantly different experience, however with similar core concept. In SharePoint, migration includes the transference of information in one form of SP to a different or from your on-premises atmosphere in to the cloud. Like every move, it’s a substantial undertaking. And, just like a movers including a strong crew, big trucks, and all sorts of dollies and bungee cords, we’re here to assist!

Within this how-to video, we’re going to inform you how to setup your migration profile settings in DocAve. The main reason these settings appear in an account would be to help you save time of configuring settings for every migration job individually. To obtain began, click the profile settings button around the DocAve toolbar.

You will find that you are able to select your profile from the dropdown menu, such as the default profile, any one of which may be set as the default.

Now, would feel the settings to describe each one of these. First, in ‘source component options,’ begin with the filter policy. This determines what will be migrated. If there isn’t any filter policy, everything is going to be migrated. Should you set a filter policy, it’s a comprehensive filter policy, so something that meets the problem will migrated too. For example, should you only desired to migrate documents which have been modified within the last 3 years, you are able to migrate that more than using the proper filter policy setting, and anything else is going to be overlooked.

Be cautious when choosing alerts, if the destination atmosphere is live, active, capable to send emails, then all users can get emails for every alert and each document that’s submitted.

If you are using workflows, you’re certainly likely to wish to bring within the definition. For those who have any running workflows, you have to figure out how you need to handle individuals, since you can’t keep your running workflow in the present stage. It must be canceled, however, you can choose, if you would like, to depart it canceled or restart the workflow right from the start.

For just about any managed metadata terms of service, when the term exists within the source but away from the destination, then you’ll have an exception within the job, so you have to make certain that the terms can be found. You may either migrate each term since you need them, or even the term sets since you need them so there might be more terms than you’ll need, or you might bring over everything. Alternatively, should you leave the ‘migrate managed metadata service’ box unchecked, you have to make certain that the terms which are within the source can be found in the destination.

‘Include empty lists and libraries’ is checked automatically, but if you wish to reduce any clutter so far as lists or libraries which are empty, for than likely not essential or not in use, you are able to leave this unchecked not to include them inside your migration. If you are unsure, let it rest checked.

Next, we’re going to check out the mapping options. It’s expected that you’d make use of a discovery tool within the source which means you know what’s there, and when there are plenty of templates which are within the source that will not be recreated within the destination, we’ll have to know what templates you need to use for individuals custom templates, which may be accomplished within the template mapping settings.

Should there be any posts or content types within the source that should be altered to another one within the destination, you are able to map individuals within the ‘content type mapping’ portion, but based on what sort of column it’s, may possibly not map appropriately. You need to be careful using what you’re really mapping to make certain the posts seem sensible with regards to what you’re mapping to.

With ‘user mapping,’ the greatest issue we encounter happens when a person doesn’t appear in the atmosphere any longer inside your active directory, yet they produced or modified a document. Automatically, for those who have no user mapping, we’re just likely to make use of the service account that DocAve is applying, and you will see that rather when the user that ceases to exist. Should you not need to see that account, you are able to configure another account.

However, what most customers do, and just what we advise, is creating what’s referred to as a placeholder account, and configure it in user mapping so DocAve will really use that account to upload the document. But, because it’s only a placeholder account, you can edit the metadata to really make it seem like the non-existent user is really there, so between your source and also the destination using the placeholder account, it’ll look the identical, and that’s why many people make use of a placeholder. One more reason to make use of user mapping is that if you’re actual user accounts will vary between your source and also the destination. For instance, when the source is J. Cruz rather of John.Cruz, then that may be specified via user mapping. However, this might make for many users and due to this, you’re in a position to upload and download that mapping so that you can take proper care of that outdoors from the Graphical user interface.

However, when the usernames are identical between your source and also the destination, however the domains will vary, then you’re able to utilize the ‘domain mapping’ in DocAve and we’re just likely to switch the domain within the destination using the proper domain. When the domains are identical between your environments, you would not have to do any mapping whatsoever, only the user mapping for that placeholder account therefore we get sound advice using the deleted accounts.

Language mapping and list name mapping aren’t heavily used, however their uses are relatively self-explanatory.

Next, ‘advanced options.’ For the first option, ‘preserve the null column values,’ you have to figure out how you need to handle the default value inside a column. For instance, if everyone was lazy within the source and weren’t really classifying documents how they should, you will possibly not always want that column of document classification to become empty within the destination.

You may want that to become a default classified term, for instance an MMS term, to be able to locate fairly easily individuals documents and say “okay, all those that are unclassified, we have to classify these.” Just by selecting ‘yes’ to dictate the upkeep of null column values, it’s likely to keep that blank null column value and it’ll seem like there’s nothing there. By selecting ‘no,’ then it’s likely to bring within the document and won’t leave the default value being an empty one. This can be a essential setting and you should know of the items your setting means.

The ‘change site look and feel’ setting can be used mainly if, say, you’re moving from 2007 to 2010 or 2010 to 2013 when the appear and feel really did change. You are able to change this within the migrator, or preserve it, which enables you — or even the finish user — to trigger that change later on once you’re pleased with your migration.

The ‘collapse folder structure’ setting can also be heavily used because oftentimes customers discover that their finish users aren’t utilizing SharePoint correctly, and they’ve numerous folders when they must be using metadata and views. To be able to pressure finish users to make use of these guidelines, you are able to collapse the folder structure, however when the folder structure was really vital that you the document, you may still give a column, that will list just what the folder path was. If you want to specify the metadata, they are able to reference that column after which complete metadata column fields according to that folder structure.

‘Character length settings’ are utilized only when you wish to limit the type limit to some maximum, or else you can leave them in the default maximum settings.

Lastly, ‘dynamic rule.’ If there’s anything you’d enjoy that you simply can’t always do as they are, you are able to place it here. If there’s any kind of mapping that’s totally different from a specific item within the mapping options, or if you want to make use of a filter that you simply don’t see within the filter policy, you might be able to take proper care of that like a custom dynamic rule that people will have to assist you to generate.